top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

Stitch Fix #1: All Things Fall

As you all know, I LOVE box subscriptions (see my most recent Birchbox review here). Being at the mercy of two little ones when I'm not working my day job doesn't leave a lot of time for actually getting out to go shopping, so box subscriptions are my BFF. You've already read about how Birchbox works, so let's talk about Stitch Fix!

If you have never heard of Stitch Fix, allow me to enlighten you! Stitch Fix is a clothing subscription service that will send you 5 pieces at your decided frequency. You pay a $20 styling fee every fix, but this will go towards the cost of whatever items you keep, and if you end up keeping all 5 pieces, you actually get a 25% discount. You can choose from Automatic Fixes (every 2-3 weeks, every month, every other month, or every 3 months) or do On-Demand fixes. I don't know what I'm going to wear tomorrow, let alone next week, next month, or next quarter, so I choose On-Demand fixes, and usually schedule a fix when we have something coming up. We have family photos in October, so I thought now would be a good time to maybe snag a few pieces that I could wear for those. When you sign up, you'll fill out a very detailed style profile that includes things like your sizes, style preferences, how you like things to fit, and budget. I had a few fixes when I was pregnant and loved those, as they offer some really cute maternity options. They also offer accessories, bags, and shoes! You can let them know what you do and don't want to receive in a Fix. For example, I don't really need any more jewelry, so I simply tick the box that says I don't want to receive any of that in my fix. For each Fix, you can leave your stylist a note if there is something specific you're looking for, and this helps to choose more applicable pieces for you. Stitch Fix isn't just for the ladies either - they have it for the gents, too!

Unlike when you are shopping at a store, your Fix is delivered to you so you can try everything on in the comfort of your own home and see how it goes with what you already have in your wardrobe. Included in your fix are these cute little cards for each item that give you styling ideas, which I love! They also send a postage paid package so when you decide (it has to be within 3 days) what you want to keep and what you want to send back, you just check out online and then put whatever you're sending back in the package and put it in your mailbox. Easy peasy!

Another awesome thing about Stitch Fix is that when someone schedules their first Fix through your referral link, you get $25 in credit to use on your next Fix! Um, can you say awesome?

Now, let's get to my latest Fix! This is actually my 8th Fix, but the first one I'm reviewing on the blog, so we are just going to call it #1.

For this Fix, I told my stylist that we have family photos coming up, so I was looking for something to wear for that. I said I wanted a fall scarf, but not a mustard scarf or one with typical fall plaids, as I already own scarves like that. I told her I was looking for some nice jeans, whether in a dark fall color or a dark denim, and I requested pieces in burgundy or oatmeal colors. I also let her know that I recently had a baby so was looking for pieces that were flattering but also hid some of those areas that I'd rather not accentuate (can you say postpartum belly pooch?). I know, I know, I had a lot of demands for my poor stylist, but the more specific you are with what you want, the better equipped your stylist is to send you things that you love. Here is what she sent! (Please excuse the poor lighting and photo quality, my photographer husband is out of town so mirror shots had to suffice last night!)

LIVERPOOL Elizabeth Super Skinny Jean - $78

(I'm wearing these jeans in most of the following pics!)

I LOVE these jeans. They aren't maternity, but they ARE banded with elastic on the top, which makes them super comfortable. They have a nice solid structure and keep everything in its place. They look black in the photos due to the lighting in my kitchen, but are actually a really nice dark denim. Bonus - they are petite size so fit my short legs without me needing to go out and get them hemmed! I definitely didn't want to take these jeans off. The only drawback for me, which is a big deciding factor, was the price. I know I'd get a lot of wear out of these jeans so it would eventually pay off, but I'm not sure I can justify spending $78 on a pair of jeans when I might be able to find something similar at Target or Old Navy. Thoughts?

THE ACCESSORY COLLECTIVE: Lorna Buffalo Check Oblong Scarf - $34

When I saw this was coming in my fix, I was kind of disappointed because it seemed so, well, boring. I was totally wrong. This scarf is SO soft and when I actually saw it in person, I realized how versatile it is. I like that it's plaid so has a bit of contrast, and the black and white means I can wear it with anything. I can dress it down for a day out with the kids or dress it up for a holiday party. I do have a slight obsession with scarves though so it's not exactly like I need another one, but I just love this! What do you think - keep it or send it back?

RD STYLE: Donny Cowl Neck Pullover - $68

This was the item I was MOST excited about receiving because I felt the style was just so ME! I love a great cream/oatmeal sweater because it's a great neutral base piece, and the cowl neck is something I really like for fall and winter. This has a crochet texture but is also super soft. At $68, it's also not too bad for a sweater either. I'm just not sure I'm sold on the fit. I thought this would look a lot better on, but when I put it on, it just felt kind of like a round bag on me. I don't think it was as flattering as I'd hoped, as it kind of hit my hips at the wrong spots. As much as I wanted to love this sweater, I think this is a send-back, but would love to hear what you think, because I know I'm not always the best judge of how something looks when it's on me.

LEO & NICOLE Antony Ribbed Choker Neck Sweater - $64

I was actually pleasantly surprised when I tried this sweater on. When I saw that it was coming in my fix, I thought it was a definite NO, and almost didn't even try it on. Some people look great with a choker sweater, but I thought it was for sure not my jam because in all honesty, I have a bit of a pinhead. Props to my stylist for sending this though, because it wasn't as "un-me" as I thought it would be. I actually kind of like it! It's a bit more form fitting in the middle though, which is an area I'd rather not flaunt at the moment, so I think this one will probably go back.

SWEET GREY Bethanie Textured Dress - $78

I like that my stylist sent this, even though I don't think I asked for a dress, because it gets me thinking outside of the box in terms of my style. This is super lightweight so I could actually wear it year round if I wanted, but paired with a nice sweater, scarf, and boots it's also great for a holiday outfit. Like the RD Style oatmeal-colored sweater, the price overall is not horrible. However, as much as I want to, I just don't LOVE it. It hangs nicely from the shoulders, but almost had TOO much give in the mid-section, which at certain angles, made me look pregnant and I definitely am not.

OK fashionistas of the world, what do you think? What items should I keep, what should I send back? Help a girl out!


bottom of page