top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

Stitch Fix #5: Spring Essentials, Maternity Style

For any of you that follow my personal Facebook page, or maybe saw the post on my blog Facebook page 2 weeks ago, you'll know that we're expecting...AGAIN! I'll write another post (soon, I promise, now that I'm starting to feel better) all about it, but not today. Today's post is all about my recent Stitch Fix!

It may be snowing today here in Michigan, but we've had a few days where there have been glimpses of Spring. I honestly don't mind the cold weather - I love wrapping up in a warm blanket on the couch and getting all cozy (when the kids are sleeping of course). Something about the snow always feels so magical. I also love Spring in Michigan though, too! I think that Spring has a smell that inspires a renewed energy everywhere. And as much as I love the winter, it is nice to emerge from hibernation, ESPECIALLY with kids. It does wonders to get outside for a bit, whether it's to play, or simply to go on a walk. The fresh air helps a lot!

This brings me to my most recent Stitch Fix.

If you have never heard of Stitch Fix (<--- referral link!), allow me to enlighten you! Stitch Fix is a clothing subscription service that sends you 5 pieces at your decided frequency. You pay a $20 styling fee every fix, which ultimately is put towards the cost of whatever items you keep. (Right now, however, if you sign up using my referral link, you will get $15 in credit from Stitch Fix when you get your first one!) If you end up keeping all 5 pieces, you actually get a 25% discount! You can choose from Automatic Fixes (every 2-3 weeks, every month, every other month, or every 3 months) or do On-Demand fixes. I usually choose On-Demand fixes, but my stylist has been doing such an amazing job that I'm contemplating changing to monthly fixes. When you sign up, you'll fill out a detailed style profile that includes things like your sizes, style preferences, how you like things to fit, and budget. They offer "regular" sizes, petite, AND maternity sizes as well as accessories, bags, and shoes! You can let them know what you do and don't want to receive in a Fix. For example, I don't really need any more jewelry, so I simply tick the box that says I don't want to receive any of that in my Fixes. For each Fix, you can leave your stylist a note if there is something specific you're looking for, and this helps to choose more applicable pieces for you. Stitch Fix isn't just for the ladies - they have it for the gents, too! Unlike when you are shopping at a store, your Fix is delivered right to you so you can try everything on in the comfort of your own home and see how it goes with what you already have in your wardrobe. Included in your fix are these cute little cards for each item that give you styling ideas, which I love! They also send a postage paid package so when you decide (it has to be within 3 days) what you want to keep and what you want to send back, you just check out online and then put whatever you're sending back in the package and put it in your mailbox. Easy peasy! Another awesome thing about Stitch Fix is that when someone receives their first Fix after signing up through your referral link, you both get $15 in credit to use on your next Fix! Um, can you say awesome? Want to see what I got in my previous fixes? Check the links below!

For this Fix, as Baby H 3.0 is starting to make his or her presence known, I requested maternity items for Spring/Summer. It's still a bit cold, so I asked for some pieces that could be transitioned from late winter into spring and beyond. I asked to keep Ashley as my stylist for the foreseeable future, as I feel she really gets me and my style, but found out when I got my Fix, that she actually doesn't style Maternity Fixes. She did however, give my maternity stylist, Ginny, insight into my style, and Ginny did a great job! I always pin a lot of different options to my Pinterest board for inspiration so my stylist can get a feel for what I want. I am on a tight budget right now with another little on on the way, so asked, as usual, to keep the budget as low as possible.

Check out what I got! I'll let you know which way I'm leaning, and please, weigh in and help me decide!!

COLE HAAN Elbrigde Leather Ballet Flats - $80

When I saw these were coming, I was not impressed. When I pulled them out of the box, I LOVED them. The are stretchy around the top, so would grow as I start to retain water. I'm really hard on shoes, and I like that these have a rubber toe, but they don't look ridiculous with it. Honestly though, at $80, I can't really justify keeping them, so I'm planning on sending them back. Because of the price tag, I actually didn't even try them on, because I didn't want to fall more in love with them!

ECLAT 3-Pack Adjustable Maternity Cami - $44

These are top-notch quality camis. They are a tight knit, and long so can easily cover a growing bump. I love everything about these. But I received a 3-pack of nearly the exact same camis in a previous maternity Fix 2 years back. They are still in great shape, the only thing is that the white one is just not quite as white as it was when I got them. But since they are still in good shape and I wear them a lot, I don't really need another set. If I didn't already have some, I'd totally be keeping these, but they will be going back in the box.

LIVERPOOL Maternity Elizabeth Super Skinny Jean - $78

LUX & CO. Brendan Maternity Raglan Sleeve Knit Top - $44

These jeans. Oh my heart. I love and hate when they sent me Liverpool jeans. They are SO comfy. But so expensive. I absolutely love these jeans, and putting them on is like nothing else. They feel like pajamas or leggings on, which is not an easy feat for jeans. Even their non-maternity jeans feel amazing. However, I have a pair of maternity jeans from Old Navy that are still in good shape and look almost EXACTLY like these. At $78, I don't think I can rationalize keeping them, especially heading into the warmer months, where I likely won't need TWO pairs of the same looking jeans. So it's looking like these will go back. My heart breaks a little putting these back, since they are SO comfy!

When I saw this top was coming, I already knew this would likely be a keeper. Totally my style. I love the mixed prints! And like so many of the tops from Stitch Fix, it's incredibly soft. Honestly, I know I've said it before, but I don't know where they find all of these not only cute, but super soft clothes! In the photos, I think I pulled the bottom of the shirt down too far, so it looks a little big, but if I pull it up, it looks better. It can be worn with jeans, leggings, and probably even shorts when the weather gets warmer. Bonus, the price is reasonable. This one is a keeper for sure!

PINK CLOVER Pitsea Kimono - $38

Similar to some previous fixes, when I saw this was coming, I wasn't super excited about it. As much as I love cardigans, I only own one kimono and don't wear it very often (it does have fringe on the bottom though, which makes for a little more work when I go to the bathroom to make sure it doesn't get wet haha!). I liked the print of this, but still wasn't wild about it. Then it arrived, I put it on, and thought, "Well, my opinion on kimonos has changed!" Dan gave it 2 thumbs up as well, which is always a plus! It's actually PERFECT for a summer pregnancy. It's really lightweight, so I could throw it on over a t-shirt for spring or a plain tank on a hotter day, and still be comfortable. Another thing I love is that it's not maternity-specific. I could wear this not pregnant as well! I have $50 in credit in my SF account, so am leaning towards keeping this one as well.

What do you think? Do you agree with what I'm thinking of keeping? Do you have other opinions? I'm open to suggestions!!

bottom of page