top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

Stitch Fix #4: Cozy Cold Weather Perfection

Y'all, it's been COLD here. I know, there are plenty of places in the world, and maybe you're from one of those places, where it's been colder. But here (with the exception of a random 50 degree day that melted all of the snow), it's been pretty cold. I'm talking single digits and teens, if we were lucky. It's the kind of weather that makes you want to curl up and stay inside all day long.

And this was the inspiration for my most recent Stitch Fix.

If you have never heard of Stitch Fix (<--- referral link!), allow me to enlighten you! Stitch Fix is a clothing subscription service that sends you 5 pieces at your decided frequency. You pay a $20 styling fee every fix, which ultimately is put towards the cost of whatever items you keep. (Right now, however, if you sign up using my referral link, your styling fee is waived!!) If you end up keeping all 5 pieces, you actually get a 25% discount! You can choose from Automatic Fixes (every 2-3 weeks, every month, every other month, or every 3 months) or do On-Demand fixes. I usually choose On-Demand fixes, but my stylist has been doing such an amazing job that I'm contemplating changing to monthly fixes. When you sign up, you'll fill out a detailed style profile that includes things like your sizes, style preferences, how you like things to fit, and budget. They offer "regular" sizes, petite, AND maternity sizes as well as accessories, bags, and shoes! You can let them know what you do and don't want to receive in a Fix. For example, I don't really need any more jewelry, so I simply tick the box that says I don't want to receive any of that in my Fixes. For each Fix, you can leave your stylist a note if there is something specific you're looking for, and this helps to choose more applicable pieces for you. Stitch Fix isn't just for the ladies - they have it for the gents, too! Unlike when you are shopping at a store, your Fix is delivered right to you so you can try everything on in the comfort of your own home and see how it goes with what you already have in your wardrobe. Included in your fix are these cute little cards for each item that give you styling ideas, which I love! They also send a postage paid package so when you decide (it has to be within 3 days) what you want to keep and what you want to send back, you just check out online and then put whatever you're sending back in the package and put it in your mailbox. Easy peasy! Another awesome thing about Stitch Fix is that when someone schedules their first Fix through your referral link, you get $25 in credit to use on your next Fix! Um, can you say awesome? Want to see what I got in my previous fixes? Check the links below!

My requests for this Fix, as I mentioned above, were inspired by the cold weather and wanting to be cozy. I requested to keep Ashley as my stylist for the foreseeable future, as I feel she really gets me and my style. She sends pieces that are just slightly outside of my comfort zone, and she usually nails it. So for this Fix, I asked her for some comfortable pieces, and some layering options. I'd pinned a lot of different options to my Pinterest board for inspiration so she could get a feel for what I wanted. I asked for mostly top and maybe a dress, depending on the kind of dress. When I saw what was coming, I'll admit, I wasn't totally wild about everything. Then I got it and tried everything on. But, I still need your help! Help me decide what to keep, what to send back, and if I should keep it all and take advantage of the 25% keep everything discount! And again, please disregard the hot mess hair in the pictures. This is the best it's going to get when it comes to taking photos at 8:00pm on a Friday night.

Lidy Cowl Neck Knit Top - $54

Camilla Textured Jogger - $48

To be completely honest, I love the concept of joggers but was never bold enough to try them. They are like the modern take on the elastic ankle banded sweatpants. Just way cooler. I didn't think they would look good on my because I have short and rather stocky legs. Leave it to Ashley to set me straight! I LOVE these joggers. So comfortable. The only drawback, and you can kind of see it in the 2nd photo, is that they are elastic banded and drawstring. This isn't bad from a comfort standpoint at all, but you can kind of see how the tied drawstring pops out and is visible if I'm not wearing a thick top over it. Not a deal breaker in my eyes though.

And this top. Oh my heart this top. It is so incredibly soft and cozy. I don't know where Stitch Fix finds all of these soft clothes, but I hope they never stop sending me them! This is a great top that I can wear with leggings or sweats while lounging around the house and playing with the kids (though probably won't wear it with the joggers. Just a bit too much marled look in one outfit). I can also wear it to work with jeans and some brown ankle boots.

These items PERFECTLY fit my request for cozy layering pieces, and I'm thinking they are both keepers. What do you think?

Kika Fringe Detail Cotton Pullover - $64

This is the top that when I saw it was coming, I was less than excited, so to speak. I'm not the biggest fan of fringe, so when I saw this I pretty much wrote it off. Then I opened the box and really liked the color - it's a tan/beige heathered color, which goes with just about everything. I still wasn't wild about the detail until I pulled it fully out of the box and tried it on. I walked out of the bathroom to show Dan and it immediately got a thumbs up, from both him AND me. It's very comfortable, the fringe detail is actually really fun, and as I mentioned above, it can go with so many different things - leggings, jeans, you name it. What do you think? Should I keep it?

Champa Sleeveless Open Cardigan - $54

Ok, bear with me. I know I didn't pair this with the right clothes underneath, so I don't think the photos are really doing it much justice. We had just gotten the girls down, and there was no way I was going back upstairs and risk waking them up just to get a different top to try this cardigan vest with. So un-matching cowl neck sweater it was. It makes it look a little funny, but I really love this. It's seriously the perfect layering piece. With jeans, a plain white long-sleeve tee, boots or booties and even a scarf, and it's a great winter work outfit. It provides just enough warmth without feeling like I'm going to get too hot. It does lay funny on me though. I can't decide if it's just what I was wearing, or it's just not a fit. What do you think?

Murphy Brushed Knit Dress - $48

Truth time: In my last Fix, I kept everything for the discount, and then ended up selling the cold shoulder dress, because it just wasn't me. This dress however...THIS dress is me. Again, I don't know where Stitch Fix keeps finding these incredibly soft pieces, but this is another one that felt like a cozy fleece blanket when I put it on. But it's not fleece! It's a cotton-y material and is so so comfortable. It's also very versatile. I'm thinking burgundy tights, maybe a cardigan, and and tan booties for the winter. And come spring, I can wear it with a cute pair of flip flops or sandal and still be comfortable. I love pieces that can transition across seasons, and this is definitely one of those pieces. You can't see it in the photo, but it's got a little bit of an intake at about where my ribcage ends, and it's elastic there, so really seems like it's a universally flattering silhouette.

Thoughts? Keep or send back?

For this Fix, I have a gift card that I got from Dan for Christmas that would cover some of it and if I keep everything, the 25% off discount comes to $67, which is just over the cost of the most expensive item. I'm having a hard time deciding if I should keep it all though.

I need your weigh in? Keep it all? Send some back? Let me know what you think!

bottom of page